Kotori Shawl

The hat idea has been abandoned. While waiting for the swatch to dry I realized I don’t need another hat. I need a new shawl!

IMG_5741We turn the heat down at night when we go to bed. This makes for chilly mornings when we first wake up and are waiting for the furnace to catch up (sadly, our thermostat isn’t programmable). My shoulders have been getting cold during this temperature lag. What is up with that?

While I own many hand knit and crocheted shawls and wrap, of course, most of them are either big or have long wings. I worry they will get in the way while cooking breakfast and packing lunch. I needed a new shawl that was small and compact. Just enough to cover my cold shoulders.

IMG_5743Enter “The Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief” pattern by Orange Flower Yarn. This pattern has been in my Ravelry queue for ages, but I’ve hesitated to cast on since the “kerchief” designation makes it sound small. Usually I like big shawls I can wrap up in. Suddenly, small is good.

I started knitting Tuesday night and am about halfway through my ball of NORO “Kotori” yarn.  The pattern is simple, which makes it good TV knitting. It also seems to be zipping along.

As you can see, the shawl is knit top down. I quickly outgrew the 16″ cable in my LYKKE interchangeable short set. It was a simple matter to pop on an end stopper and knit onto the 24″ cable instead.

IMG_5745

But I was already starting to outgrow the 24″ cable too! Did you know LYKKE makes fixed length circulars in addition to the interchangeable sets? Happily I happen to have a 40″ US8 fixed length circular here at home.

If I didn’t have a fixed length circular in the correct size I could have used a cord connector in my interchangeable set to add the 16″ or 20″ cable to my 24″ cable to get more length. Since the set includes two cord connectors I could have strung together all three cords to create one really long cable. If I outgrow this 40″ cable it might still come to that!

IMG_5746

I’m enjoying watching the colors play out as my shawl grows. The beautiful colors Mr. Noro puts together make even simple projects exciting to knit!

Have you knit an “Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief”?

Leave a comment